Portrait Prize Finalists

This time of the year is the season of prestigious portrait prizes! We're proud to have so many artists as finalists in the Doug Moran, Portia Geach, Black Swan and Shirley Hannan portrait prizes. After the Archibald, these are the most notable portrait prizes in Australia. . Andrew Neilan is a finalist in this year's Doug Moran Portrait Prize. Semi-finalists on Bluethumb include Mertim Gokalp, Deborah Walker, Jeremy Elkington, Loribelle Spirovski, Brenda Runnegar, Todd Simpson, Bridgette McNab, Miranda Kichenside and Sophie Haythornwaite. . In the Portia Geach Memorial Award Kim Leutwyler, Monika Feuerstein, Sophie Haythornwaite, Josephine Josephson, Jessica Le Clerc, Brenda Runnegar, Loribelle Spirovski and Deborah Walker are among Bluethumb's finalists. . The WA based Black Swan Prize for Portraiture includes many Bluethumb artists among the finalists, including our Bluethumb Art Prize winner Kim Hyunji. Also finalists in this award are Daevid Anderson, Mal Chambers, Susannah Curtis, Kendal Gear, Mertim Gokalp, Jaq Grantford and Kim Leutwyler. . The $50,000 Shirley Hannan National Portrait Award finalists include Ellie Kammer, Daevid Anderson, Melissa Ritchie, Kim Leutwyler, Matteo Bernasconi and Todd Simpson. The winner for this award will be announced on October 26.

Curated by Megan George

46cm (W) x 46cm (H)


61cm (W) x 76cm (H)


61cm (W) x 61cm (H)


22cm (W) x 30cm (H)


104cm (W) x 104cm (H)


90cm (W) x 120cm (H)


20cm (W) x 20cm (H)


About the Curator

Megan George

Megan is the Content & Creative Manager at Bluethumb, working across our social media, digital marketing and creative production.
Melbourne born and bred, her days at Bluethumb are filled with many coffees, cuddles from the resident canine companions and of course, constantly adding to her burgeoning art collection.

Recent Curations