The Archibald Prize has a rich history as one of Australia's most prominent and coveted art prizes.

Awarded annually since 1921, the Archibald Prize celebrates portraiture through the artistic flair of its entrants and their subject matter, most often distinguished Australians from the fields of arts, letters, science or politics.

Finalists are exhibited at the Art Gallery of NSW, home also to the prestigious Sulman Prize, Wynne Prize and the Dobell Drawing Prize.


Loribelle Spirovski

28047 VIEWS   |   248 FOLLOWERS

Archibald Prize Finalist 2017 / 2018

Born in 1990 to a Filipino mother and Yugoslav father, artistic creation has always been my escape and fortitude against the personal challenges I experienced as a migrant, adapting to life in Australia – a vast land drenched in colour, and the murmurings of something primordial.

Kim Leutwyler

52567 VIEWS   |   394 FOLLOWERS

Archibald Prize Finalist 2016 / 2017

Born in America, Sydney-based Kim Leutwyler migrated to Australia in 2012. She works in a variety of media including painting, installation, ceramics, printmedia and drawing. Kim holds concurrent bachelor degrees in Studio and Art History from Arizona State University, and additionally graduated from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago with a Painting and Drawing degree.

Julius Killerby

2989 VIEWS   |   44 FOLLOWERS

Archibald Prize Finalist 2017

Julius Killerby is a Melbourne based artist, working predominantly with photography and paint. He generally depicts figures on deserted islands, juxtaposing photography and paint to convey a psychological intensity in his subjects, prompted by their isolation.

Mertim Gokalp

4118 VIEWS   |   76 FOLLOWERS

Archibald Prize Finalist 2013

Mertim Gokalp came to Australia in 2009. Within a few year after his migration, he has been selected as a finalist in all the top portrait exhibitions here: the Archibald Prize; the Doug Moran Portrait Prize; and the Black Swan Art Prize. These accomplishments in short time allowed him to receive a distinguished talent visa by the Australian Government for him to live and work in Australia. He recently became an Australian citizen.